Another branch of New Leaf Stitches

BERNINA Ambassador: My Story

Over 35 years ago I feel in love with BERNINA. I was in college, doing my student teaching, and the Home-Ec room was filled with beautiful, top-of-the-line machines. There was no turning back for me, I was hooked on the quality of these machines.

That’s just one of the reasons it’s easy for me to be a BERNINA Ambassador. What a privilege it is and I’m thankful to be a part of the blog hop, Telling our Stories.

I was a FACS teacher when New Leaf Stitches began and why I still kind of chuckle at my tag-line, “Fresh ideas from a recycled Home-Ec teacher.” In a nutshell, I’m a book author & quilt instructor, pattern & notion developer, and most recently, a fabric designer. Who would have ever predicted that I’d be an Aurifil Designer, be on the PBS show, Fons and Porter’s Love of Quilting or design a tool for Creative Grids?

I’d like to share just a little bit about my most recent ventures. I just released my latest notion, Clearly Perfect Slotted Trimmers.

Basically, it’s the most common-sense method of trimming and creating half-square triangles there is. Like it says; One Alignments, Two Cuts and you trim all four sides of your block. The exclusive edge slots allow you to remove the dog ears at the same time. Simple, but effective….at least that’s what I’m hearing in the reviews. It’s also the perfect companion to the popular notion, Clearly Perfect Angles (an Amazon “Best Seller”).

And at quilt market this spring, I will be completing something on my bucket list. I have a line of fabric coming out with Hoffman California International Fabrics called,  All a Twitter. Here’s a sneak peek at some of the pieces. It’ll be in stores this August.

When I became a BERNINA Ambassador,  I was absolutely thrilled with the B550 QE that came thru the door. But imagine my delight when I had the opportunity to try the B790. It truly is my dream machine. You can see how spoiled I am, having both machines set up and ready to sew.

Although I don’t do a lot of machine embroidery, I have learned how to utilize these features for details in my quilting.

Most of my posts on We All Sew have a free pattern to go with them. You can check some of my favorites out by clicking on the links.

Patriotic Patchwork Tablerunner

Wool Gift Card Envelopes

Star Block with Partial Seams

Beach Towels

However, my all-time favorite blog post and the one that I’ve gotten the most feedback on, is a little story I wrote about my sweet granddaughter. It might just brighten your day.

How to Make a Doll Quilt

I’m like many of my fellow BERNINA Ambassadors…. we love to teach!! I still have a few openings in 2018. Please feel free to contact me at kari@newleafstitches.com

I have to give a special shout-out to sweet Teri Lucas  for organizing this hop!

Please follow along and learn what the rest of my BERNINA friends have to share.

Monday March 20
Lynn Carson Harris harrislc@gmail.com
Kelly Ashton kelly@kellyquilter.com
Diane Doran info@dianedoran.com
Melody Crust melody@melodycrust.com

Tuesday March 21
Kathy Delaney kathy@kathydelaney.com
Christa Watson christa@christaquilts.com
Mandy Leins mandalei@gmail.com

Wednesday March 22
Sandy Fitzpatrick hissyfitz@earthlink.net
Beth Ferrier beth@applewd.com
Cheryl Sleboda cherylsleboda@gmail.com

Thursday March 23
Annie Smith annie@anniesmith.net
Lori Kennedy lckennedy@hotmail.com
Kari Carr kari@newleafstitches.com
Catherine Redford catherine@catherineredford.com

Friday March 24
Joanne Sharpe jzsharpe@yahoo.com
Cherry Guidry cherry@cherryblossomsquilting.com
Jenelle Montilone jenelle@trashn2tees.com

 

5 Responses to BERNINA Ambassador: My Story

  1. Jolyn Southwick says:

    LOVE the fabric!! I hope our paths cross again some day!!

  2. Janet Licari says:

    Congratulations on so many accomplishments. I love birds so I will be checking out your line of fabrics. They are beautiful. Thank you for sharing your story and inspiring quilters everywhere!

  3. Kristin says:

    Thanks for sharing! I love my CFA cling!

  4. Faye says:

    “You’ve come a long way baby”!! I’m so excited about your new fabric line. Congratulations my friend.

  5. Jenelle says:

    It’s hard to believe you were in college 35 years ago Kari!? I mean seriously? Thanks for sharing a glimpse of your journey with us on the blog tour and congratulations on the new fabric line!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *